Department of Physics and Engineering Physics     
    Univeristy of Saskatchewan     

       Curriculum Vitea
Position: Professor, Canada Research Chair in Materials Science
Fellow, Royal Society Canada
Education: B.Sc. Chemistry (1975)
Ph. D Chemistry (1980)
NSERC Visiting Fellow, National Research Council 1980-1981
Assistant Research Officer, National Research Council 1981-1984
Associate Research Officer, National Research Council 1984-1990
Senior Research Officer, National Research Council 1990-2001
Principal Research Officer, National Research Council 2001-2004
Program Leader, Theory and Computation Program, 1997-2004
Professor and Canada Research Chair (Tier I), Department of Physics and Engineeering Physics, University of Saskatchewan, 2004-
Adjunct Appointments:
Baoyugan Chair Professor
Laboratory for New Nanostructured Materials
Zhejiang University, China (2008-2010)

Tang Au-chin Professor
National Laboratory of Superhard Materials,
Jilin University 2010-

Visiting Professor:
Institute of High Performance Computing, A*STAR, Singapore (2009)
Reims University, France (2007-2008)

Adjunct Full Professor:
Department of Chemistry, The University of Western Ontario 1994-2004
Department of Physics, University of Ottawa, 1997-
RIKEN (Japan) Senior Collaborative Researcher 2003-

Honorary Professor:
Department of Physics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong 2002-2005
National Laboratory of Superhard Materials, Department of Physics, Jilin University 2005-
Honors and Awards: Visiting Professor, Department of Theoretical Chemistry, Lund University, Sweden, 1984
Noranda award on physical chemistry, The Chemical Institute of Canada, 1995
MITI (Japan) Foreign Visiting Scholar award, Hokkaido National Industrial Research Institute 1995
JSPS (Japan) Senior Fellowship, 1999 and 2006
UK Daresbury CCP5 Visiting Professor, 2001
Outstanding Acheivement Award, Steacie Institute for Molecular Science, NRC 2000 and 2003
STINT Fellowship, Sweden -tenured at Uppsala University, Condensed Matter Physics Department 2003-2004
RIKEN Collaborative Researcher 2004-
Distinguished Scholar - National Science Council, Taiwan 2003-2004
Fellow, Royal Society, Canada, elected 2008
Distinguished Research Award, University of Saskatchewan, 2010
Commitee Apointment: Advisory Board of the International sumposium of the Physics and Chemistry of Ice
Commisioner, International Union of Crystallographer's Commission on High Pressure Science
Member, advisory committe of the International Association for the Advancement of High Pressure Science and Technology (AIRPAT)
Canadian delegate at the Japan-Canada workshop on Natural Gas Hydrate
Chairman, Review Oversight Committee, Canadian Light Source (2000-2004)
Member, Beamline Planning and Access Committe, Canadian Light Source
Chairman, Inter-Institute Program on High Performance Computing
Member, International Program Committe, High Pressure-2000, Ukraine 2000
Member, International Advisort Committe, NATO Workshop on High Pressure Science, Erice, Italy 2003
Meeber, College of Reviewers, Canada Research Chairs Program
Member, NSLS Proposal Review Panel, National Synchrotron Light Source, Brookhaven National Laboratory 2006-